PIA Named Primary Airport of the Year

Published 05/14 2014 04:37PM

Updated 05/15 2014 06:48PM

Collinsville – Illinois Transportation Secretary Ann L. Schneider today congratulated the “2014 Airport of the Year” award recipients. Seven awards were presented by the Illinois Department of Transportation (IDOT) at the Illinois Aviation Conference, held in Collinsville today, recognizing airports for their accomplishments throughout the year, outstanding partnership with the state and commitment to customer satisfaction.

The General Wayne A. Downing Peoria International Airport was named the "Primary Airport of the Year".  Primary airports have annual enplanements of 10,000 or more passengers.

“We are very proud of the commitment made to ensure the comfort and safety of Illinois travelers,” said Secretary Schneider. “These airports set the bar for excellence and we are happy to partner with them to continue to advance aviation and further safe and efficient air travel throughout Illinois.”

Each year, senior staff from IDOT’s Division of Aeronautics convenes to determine which airports should receive special recognition as “Airport of the Year.” The criteria for the award are based on cooperation and coordination with the Division of Aeronautics by airport management and their staff, the facility’s safety record, maintenance of the facility and the promotion of seminars and aviation events.

“These awards are our way of recognizing the tremendous dedication to the aviation community exhibited by airports and heliports throughout Illinois,” said Division of Aeronautics Director Susan R. Shea. “We send our sincere congratulations to all of this year’s recipients.”

Copyright 2016 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

CIProud Workday Newsletter Sign-up