WMBD 31 Honored with Edward R. Murrow Award

Published 04/22 2014 04:19PM

Updated 04/22 2014 05:26PM

PEORIA - WMBD 31 has won an Edward R. Murrow Award in the Breaking News category for the station's coverage of the November 17th tornado. The RTDNA announced the 2014 regional winners Tuesday. The awards recognize the best electronic journalism produced by radio, television and online news organizations around the world.

"These prestigious Edward R. Murrow Awards are a testament to our commitment to addressing the information needs of local viewers and we are extraordinarily proud and congratulate our reporters, anchors, digital media specialists and other personnel that are being honored." said Perry Sook, President and Chief Executive Officer of WMBD's parent company Nexstar Broadcasting.

"This was a tragedy everyone in central Illinois will never forget." said WMBD VP & General Manager Rich Engberg. "I’m extremely proud of our team and proud that our peers acknowledged WMBD 31's storm coverage with this prestigious honor."

This year, RTDNA awarded 661 regional Edward R. Murrow Awards in 14 categories, including Overall Excellence, Breaking News, Investigative Reporting, and Website.

"RTDNA is proud to be able to honor the best of local broadcast and digital journalism with these prestigious awards while honoring the legacy of Edward R. Murrow," said RTDNA Chairman Chris Carl. "I would like to personally congratulate all the regional winners and wish them luck as they move on to the national competition."

Click here for the WMBD 31 Entry:

Copyright 2016 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

CIProud Workday Newsletter Sign-up