National Police Week: Local law enforcement recognize award recipients

Local News

Awards from Peoria Police Department and County Sheriff's Office

PEORIA, Ill. (WMBD) — In honor of National Police Week, the Peoria County Sheriff’s Office and Peoria Police Department are recognizing members of law enforcement Wednesday.

The first set of awards come from the sheriff’s office:


  1. Deputy of the Year 2020
    • Deputy William Bohm
  2. Letters of Commendation
    • Deputy Austin Cisna
    • Detective Justin Oberholtzer
    • Deputy Brett Merna
    • Deputy James Gilmore
  3. Felony Drug Enforcement Award
    • Deputy Austin Cisna
  4. Police Valor Award
    • Deputy William Bohm


  1. Correctional Officer of the Year 2020
    • Officer Jewel Sanders
  2. Letter of Commendation
    • Jail Tech Renee Causino


  1. Civilian Employee of the Year 2020
    • Randy Brunner, Finance Director

Deputy William Bohm — Deputy of the Year 2020

Officer Jewel Sanders — Correctional Officer of the Year 2020

These next awards come from the Peoria Police Department.

2020 Police Officer of the Year:

  • Officer Zachary Cowan

2020 Life Saving Certificate:

  • Officer Michael Bishoff
  • Officer Jared Moore
  • Officer Travis Ellefritz

2020 Lifesaving Valor:

  • Officer Zachary Jackson

2020 Distinguished Service Commissioned:

  • Officer Michael Bishoff
  • Officer Scott Bowers
  • Officer Matthew Mocilan
  • Officer Clinton Rezac
  • Officer Anthony DePalma
  • Officer Travis Ellefritz
  • Officer Jacob Willis
  • Officer William England
  • Officer Jonathan Irving

Distinguished Police Duty:

  • Officer Morris Franklin

2020 Combat Valor Award:

  • Officer Caleb Bray
  • Officer Brandon Prang

2020 Civilian of the Year:

  • Jack Nieukirk

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Latest Local News

More Local News