Two open seats on the Illinois Supreme Court were on Tuesday’s ballot, and they’ve both been filled by Democratic women.

Elizabeth Rochford won over Mark Curran in the 2nd District which covers the northern and western suburbs in Kendall, Kane, DeKalb, McHenry and Lake counties.

Democrat Rochford has served on the 19th Circuit Court in Lake County since she was appointed in 2012. Previously she was an Assistant State’s Attorney in Cook County.

Curran called Rochford to concede before the race was officially called.

Curran served as Lake County Sheriff for three terms. He worked in the Cook County State’s Attorney’s office in the late 1980s. Curran was formerly a Democrat and switched parties in 2008. He ran for U.S. Senate in 2020 and lost to Dick Durbin.

Mary Kay O’Brien overcame Republican Michael Burke in the 3rd District which includes portions of the western and southern suburbs in DuPage, Will, Kankakee, Grundy, LaSalle, Bureau and Iroquois counties.

Democrat O’Brien served as a State Representative from 1997-2003 and was appointed to serve as a judge in the 3rd appellate district court where she has served for 19 years.

Republican Burke is the current Illinois Supreme Court justice from the 2nd District, who was moved into the new 3rd District when the maps were redrawn. He was
appointed to current seat in 2020 and was seeking a full term.

While the race has not been officially called, Burke has called O’Brien and conceded.

Rochford and O’Brien will join Democrats Mary Jane Theis, Anne Burke, and P. Scott Neville and Republicans David K. Overstreet and Lisa Holder White.